Why Do We Care So Much About Our Weight?!

I have basically never been very comfortable with my size, but who has? I have always been curvy and curvy is a good thing.

Last year after going on the contraceptive injection, I put on nearly 4 stone in less than a year. That was pretty bad, and sent me on a downward spiral and I basically just felt pretty shit! I didn’t want to go out or socialize because as silly as it sounds, I just thought everyone would look at me and be like “oh my god look how FAT she got!”. And to be honest, I don’t think any of my friends would think like that, but that’s what I thought.

Luckily, after coming off the injection, I started to lose the weight and still am now. This was also down to walking EVERYWHERE and drinking lots and lots of water. That is pretty much all I did, and it seems to just be slowly and healthily falling off me now.

Now though, I don’t care. I really don’t. I am quite happy with my skin right now, and no I’m not tiny, I’m no way perfect and I do have the wobbly bits, but that is what makes me me. I think it’s a shame how society has made us believe we have to be size 0 to look good, or we have to starve ourselves to be pretty. WE DON’T! No no no. I look at curvy girls and think wow! She looks like a proper women. Because we all ARE proper women (sorry to sound like a raving feminist there).

My point is, life is too short to worry about what size you are. It is more important to aim to be healthy and happy than trying to be skinny and ending up being miserable because you can’t eat what you want. Confidence is something that takes time to grow, but learn to love yourself and tell yourself positive things every day and you will get there. I am not going to sit here and lie and say “I LOVE MYSELF!” I don’t adore myself at all, I still look at myself and think…”urgh” some days, but that is going to happen, everybody has their bad days.

SO don’t ever stare at yourself in the mirror and look at all the bad things you think of yourself, look at the good and embrace them! And if you really want to slim down then do it the healthy way.

Be happy and healthy šŸ™‚

I found this image on weheartit.com and thought it would be perfect for this!
Follow my blog with Bloglovin

15 thoughts on “Why Do We Care So Much About Our Weight?!

  1. Thanks for the follow and i am now following you too. I love this post. I suffer with my weight and suffer with my confidence as a result too. I have decided that in 2013 i am going to change the way i think completely. I am going to be more daring as you get no where in life by being shy or lacking confidence.. Sad but true unfortunately.

  2. Thank you for following back! Yeah that’s exactly what I decided, plus having no confidence can feel quite boring! When you start to be more daring I think life starts to get more exciting then too šŸ™‚

  3. Thank you for following my blog. Healthy, happy and loving yourself is where it is at.
    The number on the scale isn’t where the health is.

    • No problem, I really liked reading through it šŸ™‚ And definitely! I prefer not to even weigh myself anymore! It’s better to go by how you look and feel, rather than a number that you will never be exactly happy with. x

  4. Good for you! I couldn’t agree more. I have found with age comes confidence. Not to say that I don’t ever get self conscious about my “wobbly bits” but I’m quicker to forgive and accept them now.
    Thanks for the follow! I’m returning the favour not just because you did but because I’ve enjoyed what I’ve read on your blog. I think it’s important to mention that?

    • Thank you so much! šŸ™‚ And no problem, really like your blog. I still do get self conscious, but I think everybody does sadly šŸ˜¦ would be good if that emotion didn’t exist sometimes! x

Leave a Reply

